top of page
Featured Post

One Quote, Or two?


To ‘, or not to ‘


One would think by the time I got to my sixth book and my fifth novel I would have the basics of punctuation down.


Alas, this is not to be.


As I was working through the feedback from my beta readers, one of them questioned my use of single quotation marks to indicate a silent thought.


‘That’s the way I’ve always done it,’ I thought.


Well it turns out that using single quotes for thought is not acceptable according to those in charge of such things.


I learned I should use full quotation marks (as if it had been spoken aloud). "That could be confusing", I thought.


I looked or another option. I dug a little deeper and found another way to indicate silent thought.


Eureka! I found it!  I shouted to myself.


It seems that it is perfectly fine to use italics to show what a character is thinking.


Now back to editing Whiteout! And Other Stories (italics used here to indicate a title, not a thought). I need to find every silent thought and update the format. Global search here I come.


Drat! I hate when that happens!


The work continues.


Thank you, beta-readers,  for pointing out my mistakes. I take all to heart and could not do this without you.

Ramily Radio - Brain Gain in Small Towns - Richard Skorupski
00:00
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page