top of page
Featured Post

The Lady or the Tiger?

Many times I have heard the great Yogi Berra quote, “When you come to a fork in the road, take it.” Well, I have come to that fork in my latest novel. I can't avoid it any longer. I have to make a decision before I type another word.


As many of you know, my current work is “The Frank Stanbauer Story”. It is the life history of Helen, South Dakota's oldest resident. I tell the story through him in the form of relived memories and flashbacks. No easy feat, as I didn't live through those times and (to make it even harder), I didn't live here.


I am coming to the conclusion of the book and have to write an ending. But what ending? Do I let the story run to its natural conclusion and make the last page an obituary? From a financial point of view, it might be the best answer. Tearjerkers seem to sell better. Or do I throw in a plot twist and get people to laugh as they turn the final page?


There's my dilemma. I have reached the fork in the road at chapter twenty-six. I have to take it. But which will I choose, the Lady or the Tiger? I still am not sure.


I guess I'll have to put my fingers on the keyboard and find out.

Ramily Radio - Brain Gain in Small Towns - Richard Skorupski
00:00
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page